Wednesday , October 20 2021

Hockey player Rani Rampal included in Khel Ratna race, has made India Asia champion under her captaincy

Hockey India has recommended the Sports Ministry to present the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award to Rani Rampal, captain of the Indian women’s team. The Federation has nominated Arjuna Award to Vandana Kataria, Monica and Harmanpreet Singh. Former Indian players RP Singh and Tushar Khandekar have been recommended for the Major Dhyanchand Lifetime Achievement Award.

Names of coaches BJ Kariyappa and Ramesh Pathania have been nominated for the Dronacharya Award. The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is the highest sporting honor of the country. Hockey India has recommended the names for these awards to the Sports Ministry based on the performance of the last 3 years i.e. from January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2019.

Meanwhile, India won the Women’s Asia Cup in 2017 under the captaincy of Rani. Won silver medal in Asian Games in 2018. It is under her leadership that the Indian women’s hockey team has won a ticket to the Tokyo Olympics. After winning the match, India qualified for the Olympics in which the winning goal was scored by the queen.

India rose to ninth place in the FIH rankings under Rani’s captaincy. Rani is the first Indian to receive the World Sports Athlete Award. He has received Arjuna in 2016 and Padma Shri in 2020. Rani also took great care of her fitness during the lockdown. She posted many such videos on social media, in which she was seen practicing at home.

At the same time, Vandana, who was nominated for the Arjuna Award, has played more than 200 matches for the country. On the other hand, Monica has participated in more than 150 international matches. Vandana and Monica were spearheading India’s win in the FIH Series Finals in Hiroshima, the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Test Tournament and the Olympic Qualifiers in Bhubaneswar.

The Federation has sent the Indian men’s team’s drag flicker Harmanpreet Singh to the Sports Ministry for the Arjuna Award. Harmanpreet had a terrific performance at the FIH Series Finals in Bhubaneswar.

So far only 2 players from hockey Sardar Singh (2017) and Dhanraj Pillai (1999-2000) have been selected for the Khel Ratna Award. Rani will be the first female hockey player to receive the honor if selected for the Khel Ratna.

So far these players have become Khel Ratna

year The player sport
2019 Bajrang Punia Wrestling
2019 Deepa Malik Paralympic
2018 Meerabai Chanu Weightlifting
2018 Virat Kohli Cricket
2017 Sardar Singh Hockey
2017 Devendra Para Athletic
2016 PV Indus Badminton
2016 Deepa Karmakar Gymnastics
2016 Jeetu Rai Shooting
2016 Sakshi Malik Wrestling
2015 Sania Mirza Tennis
2013 Ranjan sodhi Shooting
2012 Vijay Kumar Shooting
2012 Yogeshwar Dutt Wrestling
2011 Gagan Narang Shooting
2010 Saina Nehwal Badminton
2009 Mary com Boxing
2009 Vijender Singh Boxing
2009 Sushil Kumar Wrestling
2007 Mahendra Singh Dhoni Cricket
2006 Manavjit Singh Sandhu Shooting
2005 Pankaj Advani Billiards and snooker
2004 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore Shooting
2003 Anju Bobby George Athletics
2002 KM Binamol Athletics
2002 Anjali Bhagwat Shooting
2001 Abhinav Bindra Shooting
2000-2001 Pullela Gopichand Badminton
1999-2000 Dhanraj Pillai Hockey
1998-1999 Jyotirmaya Sikdar Athletics
1997-1998 Sachin Tendulkar Cricket
1996-1997 Leander Paes Tennis
1995-1996 N. Kunjoorani Weightlifting
1994-1995 K Malleshwari Weight lifting
1992-1994 Commander Homi D. Motiwala Rowing
1992-1994 Commander PK Garg Rowing
1991-1992 Vishwanath Anand Chess
1991-1992 Geet Sethi Billiards

Check Also

Sehwag’s befitting reply to the Pakistani anchor’s ‘date will change’ statement, said – we will see…

Team India has a great record against its arch-rivals Pakistan in ICC events. India’s 5-0 ...