Sunday , July 14 2024
Home / Sport / Will Gujarat Titans be able to save the title today in IPL 2023 or will Chennai become super king again?

Will Gujarat Titans be able to save the title today in IPL 2023 or will Chennai become super king again?


The decisive final match of the IPL 2023 season will be played today. Defending champions Gujarat Titans and Chennai Super Kings will clash today in this two-month-long tournament. The final match will start at 7:30 pm at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Chennai entered the final by winning Qualifier 1, while Gujarat entered the final after defeating Mumbai Indians in Qualifier 2. With this, such an amazing record has been created in the history of IPL which has not happened till date. This record is related to the opening match and final of the league this season.

This will be the first time in the history of IPL

This will be the first time in the history of IPL that both the teams playing the opening match of the season have entered the final of the season. This record became as soon as the Gujarat team reached the final. The opening match of the 16th season of IPL was played between Chennai and Gujarat in Ahmedabad on 31 March. Gujarat won this match by 5 wickets. After this, there was a clash between Chennai and Gujarat in Qualifier-1 as well. Chennai won this match and entered the final.

Head to head record of Chennai Super Kings and Gujarat Titans

Chennai Super Kings and Gujarat Titans have faced each other four times in the IPL so far. The total of four matches played between the two includes 3 league and 1 playoff match. Gujarat has won all the three matches of the league while the Chennai team has managed to win one match of the playoffs.

Chennai has won 4 times and Gujarat once in IPL

The record of winning the most titles in IPL is in the name of Mumbai Indians. The Mumbai team has become champion 5 times. After Mumbai, under the captaincy of Dhoni, the Chennai team has become champion 4 times. Apart from this, Hyderabad has won the title twice (Deccan Chargers 2009, Sunrisers Hyderabad 2016). Kolkata Knight Riders became champions twice under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir. Apart from these three teams, Rajasthan Royals and Gujarat Titans have won the title 1-1 times. The Gujarat team had become champions as soon as they entered last year.

Ahmedabad’s pitch and weather will be monitored

The pitch in Ahmedabad helps the batsmen a lot. Fours and sixes rained in Qualifier-2 between Gujarat and Mumbai. With this, the fast bowlers can get some help in the beginning on this pitch. The spinners can also get some help as the match progresses. It is likely to rain in Ahmedabad this evening. The Meteorological Department has predicted light to heavy rain in Ahmedabad.

Reserve day has not been kept this year

Reserve day was kept for the final match in IPL 2022. However, as per the playoff schedule announced by the BCCI this year, there is no reserve day for the IPL 2023 final. This year the winner of IPL 2023 will be decided on the match day itself.

If the match is abandoned due to rain then this team will be the winner

If one team bowls all its 20 overs in the first innings, the other team also has to bowl five overs to decide the match under the Duckworth–Lewis rule. If the match is washed out by rain after the other team has played five overs, the Duckworth–Lewis method will be used to decide the winner. If for any reason both or any of the teams are unable to play five overs and the rain stops after the cut-off time, decisions will be taken as per rules. According to these rules, both the teams will play super over and the super over will decide which team will become the champion. If the super over is also difficult and there is no decision in the match, then the team will be declared the winner on the basis of the points of the league round. If this happens then Gujarat is on top with 20 points, for this Gujarat Titans team can become champions.