Saturday , May 18 2024
Home / Uttar Pradesh / UP Legislative Council by-elections: BJP wins both seats, SP loses

UP Legislative Council by-elections: BJP wins both seats, SP loses


Lucknow, May 29 (Hindustan Times). The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won both the seats in the by-elections for the two Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council seats. The Samajwadi Party (SP) has suffered a crushing defeat in this by-election. Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has congratulated both the candidates on this victory of the party.

BJP candidate Padmasen Chaudhary got 279 votes and SP’s Ramkaran got 116 votes. One vote has been rejected during counting. For the second seat, BJP’s Manvendra Singh got 280 votes and SP candidate Ramjatan got 116 votes.

Voting was held today for both seats in the Legislative Council by-elections. Out of total 403 MLAs, 396 voted. Seven MLAs did not vote. Two SP MLAs and one Subhaspa MLA are in jail. So they could not vote. Apart from this, SP MLA Manoj Paras also did not come to vote due to illness. Two MLAs from Congress and one from Bahujan Samaj Party abstained from voting.

Voting was held today from 9 am to 4 pm in the Tilak Hall of Vidhan Bhawan. Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath also voted. After the polling, the counting of votes started from 5 pm, in which both the BJP candidates won.

One seat in the Legislative Council fell vacant due to the resignation of BJP member Laxman Prasad Acharya when he was appointed as the Governor of Sikkim. While the second seat fell vacant due to the death of BJP member Lal Dohra.

In this by-election, BJP fielded Padmasen Chaudhary and Manvendra Singh as its candidates, while SP’s Ramjatan Rajbhar and Ramkaran Nirmal were in the fray. According to the numerical strength, the victory of the BJP candidates in this by-election was already considered certain.

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has congratulated the party candidates on this victory. Hearty congratulations to the double engine government candidates Padamsen Chaudhary and Manvendra Singh for their victory in the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council Members by-election!

Chief Minister Yogi further wrote that he has full confidence that as per the Prime Minister’s vision, the public demeanor, hard work and experience of both the winning honorees will help in achieving the vision of ‘Self-reliant Uttar Pradesh’. He wished the successful candidates a bright tenure.