Thursday , May 30 2024
Home / Sport / There will be no new champion in IPL 2023, know who is the most contender

There will be no new champion in IPL 2023, know who is the most contender


The IPL 2023 season is at its final stage. Only two matches of season-16 are left. There is still a fight between three teams to win the title. Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings have secured a direct ticket to the final by winning Qualifier-1. Whereas, Qualifier-2 between Gujarat Titans and Mumbai Indians will be played tomorrow at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The team that wins this match will play the final match against Chennai on 28th May. There will be no new champion in IPL 2023 as the Lucknow team is out. All the three teams have won the title before.

Lucknow will not get a new champion

Lucknow Super Giants crashed out of the tournament yesterday, dashing fans’ hopes of a new champion team. Of the four teams that qualified for the playoffs this year, Lucknow was the only team to win its maiden title. However, Lucknow were held up by Mumbai in the Eliminator match. Now remaining three teams have won at least 1 title. These three teams will play the next match to win another title.

Gujarat won the title in the debut season last year

These three teams have ruled the IPL from 2020 to 2023. Mumbai Indians won the IPL title for the 5th time in 2020. On the other hand, Chennai Super Kings led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni became champions for the fourth time in the year 2021. Apart from this, in the year 2022, in their debut season, Gujarat Titans performed brilliantly and won the title. Now one of these three teams will win the IPL trophy this year as well.

Which teams have not won the IPL title yet?

Many teams have participated in the history of IPL but talking about the current franchises, Royal Challengers Bangalore along with Lucknow Super Giants, Punjab Kings and Delhi Capitals are the total 4 teams that have not won a single trophy. Apart from Lucknow, no team has been able to reach the playoffs this year.