Saturday , May 18 2024
Home / Uttar Pradesh / Mayor and 100 councilors took oath, Deputy CM felicitated

Mayor and 100 councilors took oath, Deputy CM felicitated


Prayagraj: On Friday, Mayor Ganesh Kesarvani and 100 councilors took oath at KP College grounds. Former Mayor Abhilasha Gupta Nandi presented the mace to the newly elected Mayor Ganesh Kesarwani. UP Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya congratulated the mayor and councillors.

Divisional Commissioner Vijay Vishwas Pant administered the oath to Mayor Ganesh Kesarwani. After this the mayor administered oath to 100 corporators. BJP has the highest number of councilors (56). The number of independent councilors is 19, while 16 SP councilors have also taken oath. Apart from this, four councilors from Congress, MIM, BSP and Nirbal Shoshit Hamara Aam Dal won the elections. Mayor Ganesh Kesarvani administered oath to all the corporators.

It may be mentioned that the swearing-in ceremony was supposed to be held from 10:30 am, but due to heavy storm and water this morning, the pandals erected in KP College collapsed and flooded. The municipal officials organized the system smoothly. Due to which the ceremony started after 12 o’clock but chaos continued.

On the other hand, barricading was done near CMP Degree College and movement was restricted. Journalists were also barred from coverage. Meanwhile, Inspector Sandeep Kumar Shukla also misbehaved with journalists.