Saturday , May 18 2024
Home / National / Inauguration of New Parliament: 20 No, Yes 4.. Which forces will be involved in the inauguration of the new Parliament?

Inauguration of New Parliament: 20 No, Yes 4.. Which forces will be involved in the inauguration of the new Parliament?


New Delhi: Inauguration of new parliament building Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate the new parliament building on Sunday (May 28), but even before that, the BJP and opposition forces have already started discussions about it.

20 opposition forces including the Congress, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress, Sharad Pawar’s Nationalist Congress Party have announced not to participate in the inauguration ceremony, while many opposition forces have said they will attend the event.

What are the demands of opposition parties?
Congress, TMC, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United), CM Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party, NCP, Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray), Marxist Communist Party, Samajwadi Party, Rashtriya Janata Dal, Communist Party. Party of India, Indian Union Muslim League, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, National Conference, Kerala Congress (MANI), Revolutionary Socialist Party, Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Kachi (VCK), Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK) and Rashtriya Lok Dal will not attend.


Announcing a mass boycott, these parties said not inaugurating President Draupadi Murmu was an attack on democracy. Subsequently, Telangana Chief Minister KCR’s Bharat Rashtra Samiti Party (BRS) also separately said it would not participate in the ceremony.

Who will attend?
All opposition forces were believed to be united in boycotting the inauguration of the new Parliament building, but former Union Minister Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy’s India YSR Congress Party. (YSRCP) and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal on Wednesday said they will attend the inauguration ceremony of Parliament House. So former Chief Minister Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party has not clarified its stand.

YS Jagan Mohan Reddy said, “I ask the opposition parties to put aside all political differences and participate in this grand event. My party will participate in this historic event with the true spirit of democracy. I congratulate PM Modi for the new Parliament building.

Shiromani Akali Dal leader Daljit Singh Cheema said that Speaker Sukhbir Singh Badal will attend the inauguration ceremony of Parliament House in Delhi on May 28. Cheema said, ‘The country is getting a new parliament and it is a proud moment. We don’t want any politics now.


What did the government say?
Union Minister Amit Shah said on Wednesday, ‘Each political party has been invited for the inauguration of the new Parliament building. He will take decision as per his discretion. Shah said that the historic Sengol, given to the first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru as a symbol of the handover of power to India by the British government, will be installed in the new Parliament building. Sengol is now in a museum in Prayagraj. He said that this program should not be linked with politics.