Saturday , April 17 2021

Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer out of the tournament due to shoulder injury

Indian Premier League (IPL) team Delhi Capitals have named wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant as captain for the 14th season. Pant will play the tournament for the first time as a captain. The team’s regular captain Shreyas Iyer has been ruled out of the tournament due to a shoulder injury.

Iyer was injured while fielding in ODIs against England. Pant was then fed in his place at Playing-11. Pant had applied Fifty in two ODIs. India beat England 2–1 in the series. Pant has also captained Delhi in the domestic cricket tournament Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. He was the captain in 2017.

Franchisee gave information through social media
The Delhi franchise gave this information via social media. Wrote in the post-Rishabh Pant will be the captain of our team for IPL 2021. Shreyas Iyer has been ruled out of the tournament this season due to injury. He was hurt during the India vs England ODI series.

It was my dream to become captain of the Delhi team: Pant

After becoming the captain, Pant said that I started in the IPL 6 years ago. I have seen Delhi moving ahead of me. My dream was to one day captain this team. Today this dream is fulfilled. I am thankful to the team owner and management for giving me this responsibility.

8 teams will play 60 matches including finals in 52 days
The 14th season of IPL will start on April 9. The final will be played on 30 May. This season, all 8 teams will play 60 matches including finals in 52 days. All the matches will be held in 6 cities Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Mumbai, and Kolkata. The final will be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

For the first time it is happening that despite having a tournament in the country, no team will play a match in their home country. That is, Kolkata’s match will not be in Kolkata and Mumbai’s match in Mumbai.

Delhi could not win any title, Mumbai was the champion 5 times at most.
In IPL history, the Delhi team has not been able to win the title so far. He once played the finals in the 2020 season. He was then defeated by Mumbai Indians, captained by Rohit Sharma. Mumbai has won the title 5 times at most. Chennai team, captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni at number 2, has won the title 3 times. Kolkata and Hyderabad won the title 2–2 times. Once Rajasthan won this title in 2008. This was the first season of the tournament. Punjab and Bangalore have also not been able to win the title so far.

Pant played 68 matches and Iyer played 79 matches in IPL.

Pant has played 68 matches in the IPL so far, scoring 2079 runs at an average of 35.23. He has scored a century and 12 half-centuries so far. At the same time, Shreyas Iyer scored 2200 runs in 79 matches at an average of 31.42. Iyer could not score a century so far, but he has scored 16 fifties.

Check Also

Padma Shri actor Vivekh dies, Tamil Nadu to accord police honours

Chennai: Tamil movie comedian and Padma Shri recipient Vivekh passed away on Saturday at a ...